GreekEnglish (United Kingdom)Russian (CIS)
AmorgosAnafiAndrosAntiparosYarosDilosDonoussaFolegandrosIosIrakliaKeaKerosKimolosKoufonisiaKythnosMakronisosMilosMykonosNaxosParosSantoriniSerifosSifnosSikinosSpecial IslandsSchoinoussaSyrosThirasiaTinos
You are here: For tourism professionals / The Islands / Sikinos / History


According to mythology, the king of Limnos "Thoas" resorted to the island. By the union of Thoas with a fairy, Sikinos was born and this is how the island got its name.

Sikinos was first inhabited by the Dorians and then in the in the 10th century B.C. followed the Iones. The island was colonised by the Athenians, the Macedonians, The Ptolemy's of Egypt and the Romans.

In the Roman and the Byzantine years, it was used as a place of exile. since the Byzantine period it has many monasteries and churches while at the duration of the Venetian and Ottoman domination, it was pestered by pirate raids, with greater being the one of 1774, which literally ruined the island.

In the Frankish years it was added to the duchy of naxos. the Russians followed on the !7th century. from 1537 up to 1821 it was under Turkish administration. in 1830 it was linked with the rest of Greece.
sikinos map