GreekEnglish (United Kingdom)Russian (CIS)
AmorgosAnafiAndrosAntiparosYarosDilosDonoussaFolegandrosIosIrakliaKeaKerosKimolosKoufonisiaKythnosMakronisosMilosMykonosNaxosParosSantoriniSerifosSifnosSikinosSpecial IslandsSchoinoussaSyrosThirasiaTinos

You are here: For visitors / The Islands / Amorgos / Sightseeing

Sights

Hora
The ruins of a Hellenistic period tower in the Terlaki region, Kato Lakkos, a medieval tank that irrigated Hora, the post Byzantine churches Kera Leousa, Stavros, Agios Thomas, Mitropoli, Agioi Pantes, Agios Stefanos, the historical glebe of Fotodoti Christou and Allilodidaktiko, one of the first high schools that were founded in the post 1821 Greece, are included among the sights of Hora.

Gavra Tower -Archaeological Collection of Amorgos
The 16th century Venetian Tower of Gavras, which hosts the Archaeological Collection of Amorgos, with discoveries from excavations in the three ancient cities of Aigiali, Arkesini and Minoa is found In Hora. It has a lot of important exhibits, among which are the distinguished trunk of a Kouros and a Kori from the 6th century B.C.

Tholaria
Tholaria is located near ancient Aigiali. It is a picturesque village with beautiful white houses, cobbled streets and arches. It is found near Aigiali and can be visited either by car or by following the old path.

Lagkada
Lagkada is located on the slope of a mountain, four kilometres from the bay of Aigiali. It is built amphitheatrically and has views to the gulf of Aigiali, up to the island of Nikouria. The village is built among trees and the whitewashed houses with the characteristic Cycladic architecture create a lovely green and white picture.

Kato Meria
Kato Meria is one of the most beautiful places of Amorgos. It is located at the south-west part of the island and is an oasis of tranquillity and beauty. It is composed by the villages Kamari, Vroutsi, Kolofana, Arkesini and the settlement Rachoula. The church of Agia Paraskevi is a distinguishable sight of Kato Meria. On the road towards Kato Meria we meet the Agios Giorgis Valsamitis church, which is placed in a deep ravine with a spring that sources crystal clear water. An aqueduct is reported to have existed in the region in the ancient years

Arkesini
Arkesini is a village found 15 kilometres away from Hora. The beautiful houses, with their full of flowers courtyards, are built on the slope of the mountain Korakas. The locals are occupied with livestock-raising and fishing. The imposing church of Agios Onoufrios stands at the entry of village.
The village has a long history. Arkesini was one of the three ancient cities of Amorgos and important archaeological findings exist in the wider region.

The monastery of Chozoviotissa
The monastery of Virgin Mary “the Chased” or “Chozoviotissa”, the protector of Amorgos, remains indefinitely in the memory of those who have visited it. Its white colour dominates the area and creates a nice contrast to the deep blue of the sea. The monastery is built between the vertical rocks; it is visible only from sea and is extended in a length of 40 metres and a width of 5 metres. It is estimated that it was built in 1017. It was rebuilt by the Byzantine emperor Alexios A´ Komninos (1081 - 1118). The name of the monastery comes from an alteration of the name of the city Choziba or Koziba in the Holy Land, the region “Wadi Qilt” of today’s Palestine. It is where the picture of the Virgin Mary was found and rescued.

The monastery has eight floors, which are connected to each other with narrow stone staircases that have been carved on the rock. One can reach the monastery by climbing the 350 steps.
Two Icons of Virgin Mary and religious relics from the period of Alexios Komninos are found at the monastery. Important heirlooms such as manuscript, gospels, vestments, and ecclesiastical utensils that are dated from the 10th to the 19th century are also exposed in two cells.

The internal area of the monastery reminds a labyrinth, with many arches built of stone from Milos. Wooden posts and bindings support the roofs and floors. The cells of the monks are all carved into the rock, which constitutes a unique sample of functional traditional architecture. According to the prevailing opinion, the particular monastery owes its foundation to the miraculous picture of the Virgin Mary that reached the island sent by a religious woman who came from Chozobo in Asia Minor. Another version states that the monastery was initially created in the 9th century by monks from Palestine, and was later rebuilt by Alexios Komninos. It celebrates on the 21 November.

Churches
Among the historical monuments of the region, the church of the Virgin Mary of Katapoliani (built over an ancient temple that was probably dedicated to Apollo) and the church of Evaggelistria in Xylokeratidi (a small church from the first Byzantine period with impressive architecture), present particular interest.

Ancient Minoa
The ancient city of Minoa with ruins of a stadium, a school and the temple of Dionysus lies on a hill above the harbour offering astonishing views. According to tradition, Minos (the king of Crete) built his summer palace. Parts of the city's walls, the stadium, a school and the temple of Dionysus, are still standing today. Samples of a settlement on the same hill indicate the presence of people on Amorgos to 4000 B.C. A cemetery from the early Cycladic period and a vaulted Mycenaean grave were also found in the region.
amorgos map
gamebanner

panigiriEN

islandhopingEN