GreekEnglish (United Kingdom)Russian (CIS)
AmorgosAnafiAndrosAntiparosYarosDilosDonoussaFolegandrosIosIrakliaKeaKerosKimolosKoufonisiaKythnosMakronisosMilosMykonosNaxosParosSantoriniSerifosSifnosSikinosSpecial IslandsSchoinoussaSyrosThirasiaTinos

You are here: For visitors / The Islands / Iraklia / History

Iraklia: History



Irakleia has been inhabited (as the rest of the Small Cyclades) from the prehistoric era and in antiquity it was named Herakleia.

Excavations in the location of Agios Mammas and in the plain of Agios Athanassios, brought to light discoveries from the Cycladic culture, figurines, marble bottles, compasses, tools etc. Most of them are found in museums abroad-London, Munich and New York, as well as in private collections.

In the middle Ages the island was a pirate shelter, while remnants of the Venetian domination are still preserved on the island.

Irakleia constituted a part of the Archdiocese of Sifnos on the 16th century, while for an interval it belonged to the property of Panagia Chozoviotissa of Amorgos. People from Amorgos were installed on the island on the 19th century and created three settlements: Agios  Athanassios, which is not inhabited today, Panagia, which is todays Hora and Agios Georgios, the harbour. At the duration of German occupation, Irakleia participated in the Resistance. The bays Tourkopigado and Voreini Spilia were bases of operations for both Greeks and Allies, while in the village Panagia, a secret radio which transmitted information daily to the allied headquarters in Cairo was in operation. Irakleia constitutes a separate community from 1928.
hrakleia map
gamebanner

panigiriEN

islandhopingEN